Board of Directors

Meet the Cogstate Board of Directors who bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to our business.

The Cogstate Board of Directors have collective skills and expertise in the corporate sector, including biotechnology and medical device companies, as well as medical practice and research and sports marketing.

Brad O'Connor Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Brad O’Connor has been Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Cogstate Limited since December 2005. Brad has responsibility for Cogstate’s overall strategic direction and day-to-day operations as well as development of expansion opportunities outside of the core clinical trials business.

Brad is also a director of Cogstate Inc. and Cogstate Sport Inc. Prior to taking the position of CEO at Cogstate, Brad joined Cogstate as Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary in May 2004. Prior to that, Brad held senior positions at Spherion Group, Australian Wine Exchange and PricewaterhouseCoopers. Brad is a chartered accountant who holds a Bachelor of Business degree.

Martyn Myer AO Chairman

Martyn Myer (BMEng, MESc, MSM) is Chairman of Cogstate Limited. Mr Myer also chairs the Remuneration and Nomination Committee and the Audit and Compliance Committee. Until 30 June 2007 he was President of the Howard Florey Institute of Experimental Physiology and Medicine and was a director of the Florey Neuroscience Institutes until May 2009.

In 2008, Mr Myer was awarded the title of Officer of the Order of Australia for service to business and the community, particularly through contributions to medical research and the establishment of the Florey Neuroscience Institutes and through executive and philanthropic roles with a range of organisations.

At the Howard Florey Institute he participated in the transition of the Institute’s research focus towards diagnostic and therapeutic neuroscience, including a focus on degenerative brain diseases. Mr Myer was appointed to the Council of the University of Melbourne in February 2009. Mr Myer obtained his Master of Science in Management at MIT in Boston, and his Master of Engineering Science at Monash University, Melbourne.

During the last three years, Mr Myer has also served as a director of the following listed companies:

  • Diversified United Investment Ltd
  • SP Australia Networks (Transmission) Ltd
  • SP Australia Networks (Distribution) Ltd

David Dolby Non-Executive Director

David Dolby (MBA, Stanford Graduate School of Business; BSE, Duke University) is a non-executive director. He is an independent investor representing the Dolby Family Trust on a variety of technology investments in pharmaceutical research and drug development, health monitoring devices, computer vision, aerospace, consumer media and entertainment technologies, as well as philanthropic ventures for the Ray and Dagmar Dolby Family Fund. Currently, he is engaged in a variety of grant making and impact investments in the pursuit of accelerating detection and cures for Alzheimer’s disease. He is a director of Dolby Laboratories, Inc., a global technology firm with solutions for audio, video, and voice applications.

Previously he was a manager at Dolby Laboratories in business development focused on strategic partnerships and technology standards. He has held a variety of technology analyst, product management, and engineering positions across investment banking, Internet network software, high performance media server, and design and engineering industries.

Richard van den Broek Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr van den Broek (Graduate of Harvard University, CFA) is an independent non-executive director. He is founder and managing partner of HSMR Advisors LLC, a U.S. based fund manager with an investment emphasis on small and mid-cap biotech public companies.

From 2000 through 2003 he was a Partner at Cooper Hill Partners, LLC, an investment fund focused on the healthcare sector. Prior to that Mr. van den Broek had a ten year career as a biotech analyst, starting at Oppenheimer & Co., then Merrill Lynch, and finally at Hambrecht & Quist.

Richard Mohs Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr. Mohs retired from Eli Lilly in 2015, where he held several leadership positions including Vice President for Neuroscience Early Clinical Development and Leader of the Global Alzheimer’s Drug Development Team. Before joining Eli Lilly in 2002, Richard spent 23 years with the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in NY where he was Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Associate Chief of Staff for Research at the Bronx Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

Dr. Mohs received a Ph.D. in psychology from Stanford University and completed postdoctoral training in pharmacology at the Stanford University Medical School. He is the author or co-author of over 350 scientific papers, including those describing clinical trials that lead to the approval, in the US and other countries, of cholinergic drug treatments for Alzheimer’s disease.

Dr. Mohs is currently Chief Scientific Officer for the Global Alzheimer’s Platform (GAP) Foundation, a patient-centered, non-profit organization devoted to enhancing the speed and quality with which new treatments for Alzheimer’s disease are developed. Richard also serves as a consultant to academic institutions, foundations and biopharmaceutical companies, and is
a member of the Board of Governors for the Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation.

Ingrid Player Independent Non-Executive Director

Ingrid brings deep healthcare sector experience and strong commercial expertise to the Board of Cogstate.  She has held senior executive roles with Healthscope Ltd, a leading private healthcare provider in Australia, including the former positions of Group Executive – Legal, Governance and Sustainability, and General Counsel and Company Secretary from 2005 until 2019.

Ingrid also has considerable international commercial and regulatory experience that spans different markets and industries, which she gained in private legal practice in Australia and in The Netherlands.

Ingrid holds a Bachelor of Economics & Bachelor of Laws (Hons) from Monash University. She is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia.

Receive Investor Updates

Please fill out the form to subscribe